About County of Hawai‘i Public Works

The Department of Public Works is composed of six (6) divisions:

ADMINISTRATION :  Prepares and processes contract documents for design and construction projects, moving permits, complaints, and general information.

AUTOMOTIVE :  Responsible for the repair and maintenance of all County vehicles and equipment, except the equipment practically maintained by the respective departments.  The division furnishes parts, labor, accessories, gasoline, diesel, lubricants and tires.

BUILDING :  Responsible for inspections, plan reviews, enforcing compliance to the Hawai‘i County Code on building, electrical, plumbing and sign codes, and the design, construction and maintenance of County-owned facilities.

ENGINEERING :  Primary responsibility is to plan, design, review, and construct road, bridge and flood control facilities.  The division also implements and enforces applicable regulatory requirements of Chapter 10 Hawai‘i County Code (HCC), grading, grubbing and stockpiling, Chapter 22, HCC, work within County Right-of-Way, and Chapter 27, HCC, flood control.  The division reviews subdivision, ‘Ohana, variance, and change of zone applications.

HIGHWAY MAINTENANCE :  Responsible for establishing safety programs, investigating complaints, conducting training, and the repair, construction, maintenance, and improvement of all County roads, flood control structures, and channels.

TRAFFIC :  Responsible for the maintenance and operation of all streetlights, traffic signals, traffic signs and markings, and other traffic control facilities and devices on state and county roads.

Together, they administer regulatory and code enforcements to improve the health and safety of our ‘Ohana.